Ny intervju med Tove

 

“I make pop songs but it’s more like…I guess I’d describe it as more, sort of, off kilter pop, it’s got some sort of edge to it. It’s a bit everywhere, it’s playful and I always try to have fun with music and not limit myself. It’s way more fun to do it that way -how I thought about this album [Kiddo] when I started making it was like, with every song I want to enhance it and make it as much as it possibly could be. So with the productions it’s always a new story with each song, it is like what is it that I want people to take a way from this. What is it that I want to communicate and then try to enhance that with a sound. So I mean it’s very playful and interesting, I think.

One of the simpler songs is called ‘Whose Got News’, I like that one because it is quite different from the other ones because it is the same verse twice and it’s describing power abuse, which is something that bothers me. It’s a little bit more poetic, I guess, than many of my other lyrics. I am quite fond of that one. But I also like ‘Borderline‘ that’s also about a [bigger picture issue] -it’s basically about inequality, I think it’s fun to describe bigger more complex issues and sort of, boil it down and translate it to a pop lyric. I think that’s a fun challenge.

I’ve always been doing [music], my dad, he had a music store when I grew up so there was always instruments around. I just always did it. Different things [inspire me]. Often I get a visual -I get photos in my head and I try to sort of make music that fits that. Often I don’t do anything with that visual idea but I use it as an inspiration for the music.

With the [music] videos I try to embrace the core of the song that I ended up with. I was really lucky I found this guy [Rúnar Ingi], he is from Iceland, he makes really really beautiful things. The first thing I did with him was the Borderline video, we shot that at Svalbard, it’s the North Pole. It’s a really cool place I really recommend it. I really clicked with him. We talked a lot about what emotion we wanted to bring forward.

That sound that, sort of, early 2000s sort of, smarting studio sound -very straight forward pop. That was when I was growing up, I just thought it was a really fun challenge to take, [Baby One More Time], a song from that era and turn it into something completely different -like bring out the dark side of it.

The plan wasn’t to make a video but I got an idea that it would be really fun to make…I had no money at all. My idea was to use just the iPhone as light and light my face. Because I was at home, sitting in the dark practicing the song, looking at the lyrics [on my phone] then I saw myself in the mirror and I was like that looks pretty cool. That was the idea and we created this lonesome disco in this old industrial building.”

Klicka här om ni vil läsa intervjun på deras hemsida. 



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar: